Menu Close

Civilian Review Board members named.

In a special City Council meeting on Thursday February 9, the long-awaited and controversial Civilian Review Board was officially seated. Chaired by Kristen Dart, the five-member body that will oversee police conduct will be: Steve Boxley, president of Boxley Services;  Dianna Goodwin, co-chair of Sustainable Saratoga’s board; Skidmore College English professor L. Caitlin Jorgensen; SUNY Adirondack student Jack Maiellaro. Each commissioner appointed one member after Mayor Ron Kim appointed Dart in January. Mayor Ron Kim city wcan no move forward to implement other recommendations from the city’s 2020 Police Reform Task Force. It is unclear whether all recommendations from that group’s 50-point plan will be implemented. Public Safety Commissioner James Montagnino said Friday he is pleased the Civilian Review Board has been seated. However, he’s against banning no-knock warrants completely, as he thinks there is a safety issue in some situations when the likelihood of weapons are suspected to be present. From the Times-Union.